Finding SQL for my project

Why

I am a scholar at SAP now, most you you might not know what a scholar is, so I am also doing my MTech as work integrated program (WILP at bits - bits-pilani-wilp.ac.in ) and for completing my 3rd Sem DBMS project, I was searching for something new I could learn in database side, rather than going with the plain old Mysql. I had already tried postgres and mongoDB earlier, so I was looking for a different architecture.

Application

I little intro to our application, me and my team of 4 more scholars are working on a voting application and for that we needed a database.

What I found out

So I came across this new concept of newSQL, which basically mixes the advantages of RDBMS and noSQL, which sounded awesome, so I am planning to use one, you can read about it from this awesome post from medium: NewSql - medium

I also found free hostings of DBs,

  1. Redis - Redis-labs: Redislab
  2. MySql - Using github student pack - educationhost
  3. Postgres - heroku - you get benefits from using github student pack
  4. mongoDB - Atlas

I hope you like the post, please forgive me if it is not properly structured or lacks media, this is my 2nd post, I'll try to improve as I go forward :)